Information Technology for Business

Kansas State University

Brian Kovar

Instructor of Management

For Use By Tuesday/Thursday Section C of Information Technology for Business


 

Office:   Business Building, Room 3031

Phone:   532-3981

E-Mail Address:  bkovar@ksu.edu

 

Class Syllabus

 

Spring Semester Office Hours

Tuesday/Thursday 9:30am-11:00am

Any time I am in my office

 

 

 

IT for Business sections Spring 2017

Section A  MWF 8:30am

Section B  MWF 9:30am

Section C  TR      8:05am

 


Deep Link for MANGT 366 students to use to directly log into KSU Online class materials


Direct Link to the Wiley Plus Learning Space Student Package

Management Information Systems 4th edition by Rainer, Prince and Watson

 


 

Class Assignments

Excel Tutorial Activity #1

Excel Spreadsheet Project #1

Excel Tutorial Activity #2
First Software Quiz Review Sheet



Excel Tutorial Activity #3

Excel Spreadsheet Project #2

XML Tutorial Activity

XML Project

Second Software Quiz Review SheetExtra Credit

Access Tutorial Activity

Access Database Project

Third Software Quiz Review Sheet


Extra Credit

 


Tentative Course Schedule

Textbook: Management Information Systems 4th edition by Rainer, Prince and Watson
Wiley Plus Learning Space Student Package

Date

Topics

Class Preparation Material

Tuesday January 17

Introduction to Course

Chapter 1: Intro to Information Systems

 

Thursday Jan. 19

Chapter 1: Intro to Information Systems

Chapter 1 Reading

Orion Chapter 1 Due at 10pm on Sunday Jan. 22

Tuesday January 24

Introductory Software Activities
Spreadsheet Design and Excel

 

Hands-On Text Pages 4-7

 

Thursday Jan. 26

Spreadsheet Design and Excel

Excel Hands-On Presentation #1

 

 

Tuesday January 31

Excel Tutorial Activity #1 due at 7:30am

Excel wrap-up

Wrap up chapter 1

Strategic Initiatives for Competitive Advantage

Chapter 2 Reading

Thursday Feb. 2

Cloud Computing

Excel Hands-On Presentation #2

 

Cloud Computing Reading

Orion Cloud Computing Due Sunday Feb. 5 at 10pm

Tuesday February 7

Excel Project #1 Due at 7:30am

Chapter 2 wrap-up
Cloud Computing

Business Analytics: Chapter 5

 

 

Thursday Feb. 9

Excel Hands-On Presentation #3

Business Analytics

Chapter 5 Reading

 

Orion Chapt5 Business Analytics Due Sunday Feb. 12 at 10pm

Tuesday Feb. 14

BA: Decision Making Systems

 

DSS reading

Pages 1-12

Chapter 11 TPS Reading

Thursday Feb. 16

EXAM #1

BA: Decision Making Systems
Artificial Intelligence

 

 

Tuesday Feb. 21

Excel Tutorial Activity #2 due at 7:30am
Artificial Intelligence
Excel Hands-On Presentation #4

 

 

Thursday Feb. 23

Artificial Intelligence

AI Haag reading

Pages 13-40



Tuesday Feb. 28

Software Quiz #1

 

 

Thursday March 2

Excel Tutorial Activity #3 due at 7:30am Artificial Intelligence

Excel Hands-On Presentation #5

 

WileyPlus AI reading

Tuesday March 7

Artificial Intelligence
Excel Hands-On Presentation #6

 

 

Thursday March 9

In-Class Artificial Intelligence Quiz
Artificial Intelligence Wrap-Up

RFID & IT for Supply Chain Management

 

AI Reading Assignment Due at 8:05am

Tuesday March 14

Excel Project #2 Due at 7:30am

Wrap-up RFID & IT for Supply Chain Management

Looking at the Quality of Data and Information


Intro to XML

 

Chapter 13 Reading SCM

 

EXTRA CREDIT: Orion Artificial Intelligence Due Tuesday March 14 at 10pm

 

EXTRA CREDIT: Orion Supply Chain Due Wednesday March 15 at 10pm

Thursday March 16

EXAM #2

Intro to XML

 

 

Spring Break March 20-24

Tuesday March 28

XML Tutorial Activity Due at 7:30am

Intro to XML
XML Hands-On Presentation

 

 

Thursday March 30

XML Project Due at 3pm Fri March 31
XML Wrap-Up
Data and Database Design

 

 

Tuesday April 4

Software Quiz #2

Data and Database Design

 

Thursday April 6

Access Tutorial Activity Due at 7:30am

Access Hands-On Presentation #1

Data and Database Design

Chapter 3 Reading
Orion Database Design Due at Sunday April 9 at 10pm

Tuesday April 11

Access Hands-On Presentation #2

Interpreting SQL
Data and Database Design

Chapter 4 Reading

Orion Chapter 4: Telecommunications and Networks due at Wednesday April 12 at 10pm.

Thursday April 13

Open Book/Open Note Quiz

Data Communications for Business Students
Data and Database Design

 

Haag Telecom pdf reading

 

Class Prep Questions

Designing Database applications reading

 

Reading Relational Databases

 

EXTRA CREDIT Orion Relational Database Due Monday April 17 at 10pm

Tuesday April 18

Access Hands-On Presentation #3

Data and Database Design

Data Warehouses

 

Thursday April 20

EXAM #3

 

Tuesday April 25

Access Database Project due at 7:30am

Enterprise Resource Planning

Brief Introduction to ERP

 

Thursday April 27

Software Quiz #3

Customer Relationship Management

 

 

Pick 2 of 3 Orion activities: required

Third one is extra credit

Orion Chapter 7 Information Security

Orion Plug IT In: Protecting Info Assets

Orion Chapter 6 Ethics and Privacy

Must be completed by 10pm on Saturday
April 29

Tuesday May 2

Managing IT Systems

 

Thursday May 4

Managing IT Systems

Information Security

Protecting Information Assets

Ethics and Privacy

 

Monday May 8

TR 8:05am MANGT366 final exam

2:00-3:50pm in BB 3114

 


Copyright © 2017. All Rights Reserved.


All of the lectures in this class, PowerPoint presentations, handouts, and items published on the course web page are Copyright 2017, Brian Kovar and/or Kansas State University. Students are prohibited from selling (or being paid for taking) notes during this course to or by any person or commercial firm without the express written permission of the instructor teaching this course. Violations will be subject to enforcement under University policy and copyright laws.