Information Technology for Business

Kansas State University

Brian Kovar

Instructor of Management

For Use By Tuesday/Thursday Section C of Information Technology for Business


 

Office:   Business Building, Room 3031

Phone:   532-3981

E-Mail Address:  bkovar@ksu.edu

 

Class Syllabus

 

Spring Semester Office Hours

Tuesday/Thursday 9:30am-11:00am

Any time I am in my office

 

 

 

IT for Business sections Spring 2019

Section A  MWF 8:30am

Section B  MWF 9:30am

Section C  TR      8:05am

 


Deep Link for MANGT 366 students to use to directly log into KSU Online class materials


Direct Link to the Wiley Plus Learning Space Student Package

Management Information Systems 4th edition by Rainer, Prince and Watson

 


 

Class Assignments

Excel Tutorial Activity #1

Excel Spreadsheet Project #1

Excel Tutorial Activity #2
First Software Quiz Review Sheet



Excel Tutorial Activity #3

Excel Spreadsheet Project #2

Data Analytics Using Excel

Tableau Activity
Second Software Quiz Review Sheet
Extra Credit

Access Tutorial Activity

Access Database Project

Third Software Quiz Review Sheet


Extra Credit

 


Tentative Course Schedule

Textbook: Management Information Systems 4th edition by Rainer, Prince and Watson
Wiley Plus Learning Space Student Package

Date

Topics

Class Preparation Material

Tuesday January 22

Introduction to Course

Chapter 1: Intro to Information Systems

 

Thursday Jan. 24

Chapter 1: Intro to Information Systems

Chapter 1 Reading

 

Tuesday January 29

Introductory Software Activities
Spreadsheet Design and Excel

 

Hands-On Text Pages 4-7

 

Thursday Jan. 31

Spreadsheet Design and Excel

Excel Hands-On Presentation #1

 

 

Tuesday February 5

Excel Tutorial Activity #1 due at 7:30am

Excel wrap-up

Wrap up chapter 1

Strategic Initiatives for Competitive Advantage

Chapter 2 Reading

Thursday Feb. 7

Chapter 2 Wrap-Up
Excel Hands-On Presentation #2

 

Cloud Computing Reading

Tuesday Feb. 12

Excel Project #1 Due at 7:30am

Chapter 2 wrap-up
Cloud Computing

Business Analytics: Chapter 5

 

 

Thursday Feb. 14

Excel Hands-On Presentation #3

Business Analytics

Chapter 5 Reading

 

Tuesday Feb. 19

BA: Decision Making Systems

 

DSS reading

Pages 1-12

Chapter 11 TPS Reading

Thursday Feb. 21

EXAM #1

BA: Decision Making Systems
Artificial Intelligence

 

 

Tuesday Feb. 26

Excel Tutorial Activity #2 due at 7:30am
Artificial Intelligence
Excel Hands-On Presentation #4

 

 

Thursday Feb. 28

Artificial Intelligence

AI Haag reading

Pages 13-40

Tuesday March 5

Software Quiz #1

 

 

Thursday March 7

Excel Tutorial Activity #3 due at 7:30am Artificial Intelligence

Excel Hands-On Presentation #5

 

WileyPlus AI reading

Spring Break March 11-15

Tuesday March 19

Artificial Intelligence
Excel Hands-On Presentation #6

 

 

Thursday March 21

In-Class Artificial Intelligence Quiz
Artificial Intelligence Wrap-Up

 

AI Reading Assignment Due at 8:05am

 

Tuesday March 26

Excel Project #2 Due at 7:30am

RFID & IT for Supply Chain Management

 

Chapter 13 Reading SCM

 

 

Thursday March 28

EXAM #2

Looking at the Quality of Data and Information

 

 

Tuesday April 2

Data Analytics Using Excel Activity Due at 7:30am

Data Analytics Using Excel Discussion, Analysis and Activity

Exercise: Using Tableau

 

Intro to XML

XML Start file (open using Notepad)

 

Thursday April 4

Exercise: Using Tableau

 

XML Wrap-Up

 

Tuesday April 9

Software Quiz #2

Data and Database Design

 

Thursday April 11

Access Tutorial Activity Due at 7:30am

Access Hands-On Presentation #1

Data and Database Design

Database Reading

Tuesday April 16

Access Hands-On Presentation #2

Data and Database Design

Thursday April 18

Access Hands-On Presentation #3

Interpreting SQL

Data and Database Design



Designing Database applications reading

 

Reading Relational Databases

Tuesday April 23

Open Book/Open Note Quiz

Data Communications for Business Students

Haag Telecom pdf reading

 

Class Prep Questions

Chapter 4 Reading

Thursday April 25

Access Database Project due at 7:30am

Data Warehouses
Enterprise Resource Planning

Brief Introduction to ERP

Chapter 11 ERP Readings

Tuesday April 30

EXAM #3
Software Quiz #3
First Part

Data and Database Design

Thursday May 2

Software Quiz #3 Second Part
Enterprise Resource Planning

Customer Relationship Management (CRM) quick view

Chapter 12 CRM Reading

Tuesday May 7

Managing IT Systems

 

Thursday May 9

Managing IT Systems

Information Security

Protecting Information Assets

Ethics and Privacy

 

Wednesday May 15

TR 8:05am MANGT366 final exam

2:00-3:50pm in BB 3114

 


Copyright © 2019. All Rights Reserved.


All of the lectures in this class, PowerPoint presentations, handouts, and items published on the course web page are Copyright 2019, Brian Kovar and/or Kansas State University. Students are prohibited from selling (or being paid for taking) notes during this course to or by any person or commercial firm without the express written permission of the instructor teaching this course. Violations will be subject to enforcement under University policy and copyright laws.