Information Technology for Business

Kansas State University

Brian Kovar

Instructor of Management

For Use By Monday/Wednesday/Friday Sections A&B of Information Technology for Business


 

Office:   Business Building, Room 3031

Phone:   532-3981

E-Mail Address:  bkovar@ksu.edu

 

Class Syllabus

 

Spring Semester Office Hours

Tuesday/Thursday 9:30am-11:00am

Any time I am in my office

 

 

 

IT for Business sections Spring 2019

Section A  MWF 8:30am

Section B  MWF 9:30am

Section C  TR      8:05am

 


Deep Link for MANGT 366 students to use to directly log into KSU Online class materials


Direct Link to the Wiley Plus Learning Space Student Package

Management Information Systems 4th edition by Rainer, Prince and Watson

 


 

Class Assignments

Excel Tutorial Activity #1

Excel Spreadsheet Project #1

Excel Tutorial Activity #2
First Software Quiz Review Sheet



Excel Tutorial Activity #3

Excel Spreadsheet Project #2

Data Analytics Using Excel
Second Software Quiz Review Sheet
Extra Credit

Access Tutorial Activity

Access Database Project

Third Software Quiz Review Sheet


Extra Credit

 


Tentative Course Schedule

Textbook: Management Information Systems 4th edition by Rainer, Prince and Watson
Wiley Plus Learning Space Student Package

Date

Topics

Class Preparation Material

Wednesday Jan. 23

Introduction to Course

 

Friday January 25

Chapter 1: Intro to Information Systems

 

Chapter 1 Reading

Orion Chapter 1 Due at 10pm on Sunday Jan 21

Monday January 28

Introductory Software Activities

 

Hands-On Text Pages 4-7

Wednesday Jan. 30

Spreadsheet Design and Excel

 

 

Friday February 1

Excel Hands-On Presentation #1

 

Monday February 4

Excel Tutorial Activity #1 due at 8am

Excel wrap-up
Chapter 1: Intro to Information Systems

 

 

Wednesday Feb. 6

Wrap up chapter 1

Strategic Initiatives for Competitive Advantage

Chapter 2 Reading

Friday February 8

Excel Hands-On Presentation #2

 

 

Monday Feb. 11

Chapter 2 wrap-up
Cloud Computing

 

Cloud Computing Reading

Wednesday Feb. 13

Excel Project #1 Due at 8am
Cloud Computing Wrap-Up
Business Analytics: Chapter 5

 

 

Friday February 15

Excel Hands-On Presentation #3

Chapter 11 TPS Reading

Monday Feb. 18

Business Analytics

BA: Decision Making Systems

 

Chapter 5 Reading

 

Orion Chapt5 Business Analytics Due Sunday Feb. 11 at 10pm

Wednesday Feb. 20

BA: Decision Making Systems

 

DSS reading

Pages 1-12

 

Friday February 22

EXAM #1

 

 

Monday Feb. 25

Excel Tutorial Activity #2 due at 8am Excel Hands-On Presentation #4

 

 

Wednesday Feb. 27

Artificial Intelligence

AI Haag reading

Pages 13-40

Friday March 1

Artificial Intelligence

 

Monday March 4

Software Quiz #1

 

 

Wednesday March 6

Artificial Intelligence

WileyPlus AI reading

Friday March 8

Excel Tutorial Activity #3 due at 8am Excel Hands-On Presentation #5

 

 

Spring Break March 11-15

Monday March 18

Artificial Intelligence

 

Wed. March 20

Excel Hands-On Presentation #6

 

Friday March 22

In-Class Artificial Intelligence Quiz

RFID & IT for Supply Chain Management

AI Reading Assignment Due at start of class

 

EXTRA CREDIT: Orion Artificial Intelligence Due Sunday March 11 at 10pm

Monday March 25

Excel Project #2 Due at 8am
RFID & IT for Supply Chain Management
Quality of Data and Information

Chapter 13 Reading SCM

 



Wednesday Mar. 27

Quality of Data and Information

Intro to XML

 

Friday March 29

EXAM #2

 

 

Monday April 1

Intro to XML

XML Start file (open using Notepad)

 

 

Wednesday April 3

Intro to XML

 

 

Friday April 5

Data Analytics Using Excel Activity Due at 8am

Data Analytics Using Excel Discussion, Analysis and Activity

 

 

Monday April 8

Software Quiz #2

 

 

Wednesday April 10

Data and Database Design

 

 

Friday April 12

Access Tutorial Activity Due at 8am

Access Hands-On Presentation #1

 

Chapter 3 Reading
Orion Database Design Due at Sunday April 8 at 10pm

 

Monday April 15

Data and Database Design

Designing Database applications reading

 

Wednesday April 17

Database Design and Data Warehouses
Interpreting SQL

Reading Relational Databases

 

Friday April 19

Access Hands-On Presentation #2

 

 

Monday April 22

Open Book/Open Note Quiz

Data Communications for Business Students

 

Haag Telecom pdf reading

 

Class Prep Questions

 

Chapter 4 Reading

Orion Chapter 4: Telecommunications and Networks due at Sunday April 15 at 10pm.

Wednesday April 24

Access Hands-On Presentation #3

 

 

Friday April 26

EXAM #3

 

 

Monday April 29

Database Wrap-Up
Enterprise Resource Planning

Brief Introduction to ERP

 

Chapter 11 ERP Readings

Wednesday May 1

Access Database Project due at 8am

ERP Wrap-Up

Customer Relationship Management (CRM) quick view

Chapter 12 CRM Reading

Friday May 3

Software Quiz #3

 

 

 

Pick 2 of 3 Orion activities: required

Third one is extra credit

Orion Chapter 7 Information Security

Orion Plug IT In: Protecting Info Assets

Orion Chapter 6 Ethics and Privacy

Must be completed by 10pm on Saturday
May 4

Monday May 8

CRM quick view

Managing IT Systems

 

Wednesday May 10

Managing IT Systems

Information Security

Protecting Information Assets

Ethics and Privacy

 

Friday May 12

Managing IT Systems

Information Security

Protecting Information Assets

Ethics and Privacy

 

Wednesday May 15

MWF 9:30am MANGT366 final exam

11:50am-1:40pm in BB 3114

Thursday May 16

MWF 8:30am MANGT366 final exam

11:50am-1:40pm in BB 3114

 


Copyright © 2019. All Rights Reserved.


All of the lectures in this class, PowerPoint presentations, handouts, and items published on the course web page are Copyright 2019, Brian Kovar and/or Kansas State University. Students are prohibited from selling (or being paid for taking) notes during this course to or by any person or commercial firm without the express written permission of the instructor teaching this course. Violations will be subject to enforcement under University policy and copyright laws.