Information Technology for Business

Kansas State University

Brian Kovar

Instructor of Management

For Use By Monday/Wednesday/Friday Sections A&B of Information Technology for Business


 

Office:   Business Building, Room 3031

Phone:   532-3981

E-Mail Address:  bkovar@ksu.edu

 

Class Syllabus

 

Fall Semester Office Hours

Tuesday/Thursday 9:30am-11:00am

Any time I am in my office

 

 

 

IT for Business sections Fall 2018

Section A  MWF 8:30am

Section B  MWF 9:30am

Section C  TR      8:05am

 


Deep Link for MANGT 366 students to use to directly log into KSU Online class materials


Direct Link to the Wiley Plus Learning Space Student Package

Management Information Systems 4th edition by Rainer, Prince and Watson

 


 

Class Assignments

Excel Tutorial Activity #1

Excel Spreadsheet Project #1

Excel Tutorial Activity #2
First Software Quiz Review Sheet

Excel Tutorial Activity #3

Excel Spreadsheet Project #2

Data Analytics Using Excel

Second Software Quiz Review SheetExtra Credit

Access Tutorial Activity

Access Database Project

Third Software Quiz Review Sheet


Extra Credit

 


Tentative Course Schedule

Textbook: Management Information Systems 4th edition by Rainer, Prince and Watson
Wiley Plus Learning Space Student Package

Date

Topics

Class Preparation Material

Monday August 20

Introduction to Course

 

Wednesday Aug. 22

Chapter 1: Intro to Information Systems

 

Chapter 1 Reading

Friday August 24

Introductory Software Activities

 

Hands On Text Pages 4-7

Orion Chapter 1 Due at 5pm on Friday Aug 24

Monday August 27

Chapter 1: Intro to Information Systems

Spreadsheet Design and Excel

 

 

Wednesday Aug. 29

Spreadsheet Design and Excel

 

Chapter 2 Reading

Friday August 31

Excel Hands-On Presentation #1

 

Monday Sept. 3

No Class Due to Labor Day

Wednesday Sept. 5

Excel Tutorial Activity #1 due at 8am

Wrap up chapter 1

Strategic Initiatives for Competitive Advantage

Friday Sept. 7

Excel Hands-On Presentation #2

 

Monday Sept. 10

Chapter 2 wrap-up
Cloud Computing

 

Cloud Computing Reading

 

Wednesday Sept. 12

Excel Project #1 Due at 8am

Business Analytics: Chapter 5

 

Orion Chapt5 Business Analytics Due Wednesday  Sept 12 at 10pm

Friday Sept. 14

Excel Hands-On Presentation #3

 

Monday Sept. 17

Business Analytics

BA: Decision Making Systems

 

DSS reading

Pages 1-12

Chapter 11 TPS Reading

Wednesday Sept. 19

BI: Decision Making Systems

 

 

Friday Sept. 21

Excel Tutorial Activity #2 due at 8am Excel Hands-On Presentation #4

 

 

Monday Sept. 24

EXAM #1

 

Wednesday Sept. 26

Artificial Intelligence

 

AI Haag reading

Pages 13-40

Friday Sept. 28

Software Quiz #1|

 

Monday October 1

Artificial Intelligence

 

 

Wednesday Oct. 3

Artificial Intelligence

 

WileyPlus AI reading

Friday October 5

Excel Tutorial Activity #3 due at 8am Excel Hands-On Presentation #5

 

 

Monday October 8

Artificial Intelligence

 

 

Wednesday Oct. 10

Open Book/Open Note Quiz

Interpreting SQL

 

Data Communications for Business Students

 

Haag Telecom pdf reading

 

Class Prep Questions

 

Chapter 4 Reading

 

Orion Chapter 4: Telecommunications and Networks due at Tuesday October 9 at 10pm.

Friday October 12

Excel Hands-On Presentation #6

 

 

Monday October 15

In-Class Artificial Intelligence Quiz

Artificial Intelligence Wrap-Up

RFID & IT for Supply Chain Management

 

AI Reading Assignment Due at start of class

 

EXTRA CREDIT: Orion Artificial Intelligence Due Monday October 15 at 10pm

Wednesday Oct. 17

EXAM #2 (today or Friday TBD)

 

Excel Project #2 Due at 8am (today or Friday TBD)

 

Chapter 13 Reading SCM

 

RFID & IT for Supply Chain Management

Friday October 19

EXAM #2 (today or Wednesday TBD)

 

Excel Project #2 Due at 8am (today or Wednesday TBD)

 

 

Monday October 22

RFID Wrap-Up

Looking at the Quality of Data and Information

 

Wednesday Oct. 24

Wrap Up Quality of Data and Information

Intro to XML

XML Start file (open using Notepad)

Friday October 26

Intro to XML

 

 

Monday October 29

Data Analytics Using Excel Activity Due at 8am

Data Analytics Using Excel Discussion, Analysis and Activity

 

 

Wednesday Oct. 31

Software Quiz #2

 

 

Friday November 2

Access Tutorial Activity Due at 8am

Access Hands-On Presentation #1

 

Monday Nov. 5

Data and Database Design

Chapter 3 Reading

Wednesday Nov. 7

Data and Database Design

WileyPlus Relational Databases Reading

Friday Nov. 9

Access Hands-On Presentation #2

 

Monday Nov. 12

Data and Database Design
Data Warehouses

Orion Database Design Due at Sunday November 11 at 10pm

 

Wednesday Nov. 14

Access Hands-On Presentation #3

 

 

Friday Nov. 16

EXAM #3

 

 

Thanksgiving Break November 19-23

Monday Nov. 26

Enterprise Resource Planning

Brief Introduction to ERP

 

Chapter 11 ERP Readings

Wednesday Nov. 28

Access Database Project due at 8am

ERP Wrap-Up

Customer Relationship Management (full set of slides)

Chapter 12 CRM Reading

Friday November 30

Software Quiz #3

 

 

 

Pick 2 of 3 Orion activities: required

Third one is extra credit

Orion Chapter 7 Information Security

Orion Plug IT In: Protecting Info Assets

Orion Chapter 6 Ethics and Privacy

Must be completed by 10pm on Saturday December 1

Monday Dec. 3

Managing IT Systems

 

Wednesday Dec. 5

Managing IT Systems

Information Security

Protecting Information Assets

Ethics and Privacy

 

Friday Dec. 7

Managing IT Systems

Information Security

Protecting Information Assets

Ethics and Privacy

 

Monday Dec. 10

MWF 9:30am MANGT366 final exam

11:50am-1:40pm in BB 3114

Tuesday Dec. 11

MWF 8:30am MANGT366 final exam

11:50am-1:40pm in BB 3114

 


Copyright © 2018. All Rights Reserved.


All of the lectures in this class, PowerPoint presentations, handouts, and items published on the course web page are Copyright 2018, Brian Kovar and/or Kansas State University. Students are prohibited from selling (or being paid for taking) notes during this course to or by any person or commercial firm without the express written permission of the instructor teaching this course. Violations will be subject to enforcement under University policy and copyright laws.