Information Technology for Business

Kansas State University

Brian Kovar

Instructor of Management

For Use By Monday/Wednesday/Friday Sections A&B of Information Technology for Business


 

Office:   Business Building, Room 3031

Phone:   532-3981

E-Mail Address:  bkovar@ksu.edu

 

Class Syllabus

 

Fall Semester Office Hours

Tuesday/Thursday 9:30am-11:00am

Any time I am in my office

 

 

 

IT for Business sections Fall 2019

Section A  MWF 8:30am

Section B  MWF 9:30am

Section C  TR      8:05am

 


Deep Link for MANGT 366 students to use to directly log into class materials on Canvas


Log into Top Hat.com

Join Codes for all sections
Top Hat Student Support site


 

Class Assignments

Excel Tutorial Activity #1

Excel Spreadsheet Project #1

Excel Tutorial Activity #2
First Software Quiz Review Sheet



Excel Tutorial Activity #3

Excel Spreadsheet Project #2

Data Analytics Using Excel
Tableau Activity
Second Software Quiz Review Sheet
Extra Credit

Access Tutorial Activity

Access Database Project

Third Software Quiz Review Sheet


Extra Credit

 


Tentative Course Schedule

Textbook: Introduction to Information Systems 7th edition by Rainer and Prince

Date

Topics

Class Preparation Material

Monday August 26

Introduction to Course

 

Wednesday Aug. 28

Chapter 1: Intro to Information Systems

 

Chapter 1 Reading

Friday August 30

Chapter 1: Intro to Information Systems

 

Monday Sept. 2

No Class Due to Labor Day

 

Wednesday Sept. 4

Introductory Software Activities
Spreadsheet Design and Excel

 

Hands-On Text Pages 4-7

Friday Sept. 6

Excel Hands-On Presentation #1

 

Monday Sept. 9

Excel Tutorial Activity #1 due at 8am

Excel wrap-up

 

Wednesday Sept. 11

Strategic Initiatives for Competitive Advantage

Friday Sept. 13

Excel Hands-On Presentation #2

 

 

Monday Sept. 16

Strategic Initiatives for Competitive Advantage
Cloud Computing

 

Chapter 2 Reading

Wednesday Sept. 18

Excel Project #1 Due at 8am
Cloud Computing Wrap-Up
Business Analytics: Chapter 5

 

Cloud Computing Reading

Friday Sept. 20

Excel Hands-On Presentation #3

 

Monday Sept. 23

EXAM #1

 

Wednesday Sept. 25

Business Analytics

BA: Decision Making Systems

 

Chapter 10 TPS Reading

Chapter 12 Reading

Friday Sept. 27

BA: Decision Making Systems

 

DSS reading

Pages 1-12

 

Monday Sept. 30

Excel Tutorial Activity #2 due at 8am Excel Hands-On Presentation #4

 

 

Wednesday Oct. 2

Artificial Intelligence

AI Haag reading

Pages 13-40

Friday October 4

Artificial Intelligence



 

Monday October 7

Software Quiz #1

 

 

Wednesday Oct. 9

Artificial Intelligence



AI Technology Guide

Friday October 11

Excel Tutorial Activity #3 due at 8am Excel Hands-On Presentation #5

 

 

Monday October 14

Artificial Intelligence

 

Wednesday Oct. 16

Excel Hands-On Presentation #6

 

Friday October 18

In-Class Artificial Intelligence Quiz

RFID ( IT for Supply Chain Management and the Internet of Things



AI Reading Assignment Due at start of class

 

Monday October 21

Excel Project #2 Due at 8am
RFID ( IT for Supply Chain Management and the Internet of Things



RFID Reading Chapter 11 section 11.6

 

IoT Reading Chapter 8 section 8.4

 



Wednesday Oct. 23

EXAM #2

 

 

Friday October 25

Open Book/Open Note Quiz

Data Communications for Business Students

 

Haag Telecom pdf reading

 

Class Prep Questions

 

Chapter 6 Reading

 

Chapter 8 section 8.1 and section 8.2

Monday October 28

Data Analytics Using Excel Activity Due at 8am

Data Analytics Using Excel Discussion, Analysis and Activity

 

 

Wednesday Oct. 30

Exercise: Using Tableau

 

 

Friday November 1

Exercise: Using Tableau

 

 

Monday Nov. 4

Software Quiz #2

 

 

Wednesday Nov. 6

Data and Database Design

 

 

Friday November 8

Access Tutorial Activity Due at 8am

Access Hands-On Presentation #1

 

Database Reading

Monday Nov. 11

Access Hands-On Presentation #2

Reading Relational Databases

Wednesday Nov. 13

Data and Database Design

Designing Database applications reading

 

Friday Nov. 15

Access Hands-On Presentation #3

 

 

Monday Nov. 18

Database Design and Data Warehouses
Interpreting SQL

 

Chapter 4 Reading

Wednesday Nov. 20

Access Database Project due at 8am

Database Wrap-Up

 

Friday Nov. 22

EXAM #3

 

Thanksgiving Break November 25-29

Monday Dec. 2

Looking at the Quality of Data and Information


Enterprise Resource Planning

Brief Introduction to ERP

 

Chapter 10 ERP Reading section 10.1 and section 10.2

Wednesday Dec. 4

 

ERP Wrap-Up

Customer Relationship Management (CRM) quick view

Chapter 11 CRM Reading

Friday December 6

Software Quiz #3

 

 

Monday Dec. 9

CRM quick view

Managing IT Systems



 

Wednesday Dec. 11

Managing IT Systems

Chapter 4 Information Security

Chapter 3 Ethics and Privacy

 

Friday Dec. 13

Managing IT Systems

Chapter 4 Information Security

Chapter 3 Ethics and Privacy

 

Tuesday Dec. 17

MWF 9:30am MANGT366 final exam

11:50am-1:40pm in BB 3114

Wednesday Dec. 18

MWF 8:30am MANGT366 final exam

11:50am-1:40pm in BB 3114

 


Copyright © 2019. All Rights Reserved.


All of the lectures in this class, PowerPoint presentations, handouts, and items published on the course web page are Copyright 2019, Brian Kovar and/or Kansas State University. Students are prohibited from selling (or being paid for taking) notes during this course to or by any person or commercial firm without the express written permission of the instructor teaching this course. Violations will be subject to enforcement under University policy and copyright laws.